Chickens and turkeys, oh my!

They are here! Andy went up to Meyer Hatchery on Monday and picked up an innumerable amount of birds. I seriously don’t know how many he ordered. And I think he kept adding to the order once he was there!

Bringing them home.

Here are some of the babies. Anyone want to identify the breeds? I still have a lot to learn!

Big sister is a big helper!

Medium Brother and Little Sister get their first looks!

Medium Brother holding a chick for the first time!

We are raising meat chickens, meat turkeys (in time for Christmas) and laying hens. It was a little emotional for me when I met them…the last time there was livestock on the farm was when I was in high school, and I am reminded of what an awesome experience it is to care for these little creatures.

2 thoughts on “Chickens and turkeys, oh my!

  1. Pearlann Randy Pohlman September 18, 2011 / 9:01 am

    Wow is that the same coop i was in a couple weeks ago. have fun with the chicks!

    • Melissa September 18, 2011 / 3:01 pm

      Yeah, does it look any better? I scooped 15 wheelbarrow loads of dirt and shavings out of it.

Leave a Reply

